Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello everyone
I am so excited to share with you my new stencils that are now available through StencilGirl.
http://www.stencilgirlproducts.com/stencils-s/1846.htm

April 2014 release

I have been playing with my stencil Art Nouveau (not shown in the above picture but can be found on the ‘New Stencils’ link above). I love creating patterns to the extent that I would say I am obsessed by them. I can’t go out without looking at everyday objects, architecture, people’s clothing just about everything without thinking whether I can translate it into either a stencil, cutting file or a tangle pattern. Some which can convert nicely into all three.

Here I have combined both stencil and tangle patterns. I taped the ‘Art Nouveau’ stencil to an A3 piece of cartridge paper and traced in the spaces using a Micron 0.1 black pen. (stencil is blue as it’s my pre-production sample)

IMG_7745 copy IMG_7750 copy

Choosing what pattern to use is probably the hardest part as I sift through thousands of tangle patterns
to see which ones will fit well within the long thin shapes of the stencil.
IMG_7751 copyIMG_7754 copyIMG_7758 copyIMG_7762 copyGradually filling up all of the spaces takes time and took me about two afternoons. I normally choose the colours after I’ve finished the tangles. But this time I knew that I wanted to use a muted medieval colour palette and decided to colour as I went along. I used alcohol markers a mixture of Pro-markers, Flexmarkers and Kuretake Kurecolor twin markers.
IMG_7766 copy IMG_7767 copyIt was my brother’s partner’s birthday and thought I’d frame it and give it to him for a birthday present.
My brother’s reaction was “great, we can sell it when you become famous”. Bloomin’ cheek!